Culinary Q

Q as in "cue" as in "to prompt." A recipe is only the beginning…

Apple, Onion, and Cheddar Cheese Omelette

I may be the last person to realize that apples are an excellent option for omelettes, but better late than never!

YUM

Apples in an omelette – YUM

With it being apple season, I of course have plenty of this classic fruit on hand and decided to slice some up to add, along with some chunks of onions, to the breakfast sausages I was baking to go with an omelette.

Of course, I then realized I should rethink the omelette ingredients since my usual choice of tomato and/or bell pepper (now that squash blossoms are out of season, but that is another omelette story) may not go all that well with an apple theme. But, I did have plenty more apples and, upon imagining how the combination of egg and apple might taste, I figured I would give it a try.

As usual, I started the chopped onion in olive oil and sauteed on low until somewhat soft, then put my usual 8-10 turns of ground black pepper and a tablespoon or two of chopped fresh parsley in to cook for a bit before adding thinly sliced apple pieces.  Once all was soft but not totally mushy, I removed the mix from the pan and went on with my usual omelette preparation, adding the onion/apple mix and then grated sharp cheddar cheese before the final fold.

The omelette with multigrain bread from Mamadou's Artisan Bakery

The omelette with multigrain bread from Mamadou’s Artisan Bakery

What a great flavor combo! And, the toasted multi-grain bread from Mamadou’s Artisan Bakery was the perfect accompaniment. It certainly did not hurt that the eggs were from Copicut Farms and the apple from Farmer Dave, but, whatever the source, I am going to keep apple omelettes in my repertoire, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/30/2013 by in Breakfast, Eggs.

Navigation

