Culinary Q

Q as in "cue" as in "to prompt." A recipe is only the beginning…

Chayote !

As I wrote on Facebook the other day, I picked up a chayote at Farmland because I had never tried it before.   Once home, I forgot what it was called except that it started with the letter C.

Mystery Produce

The Produce Guide to the rescue!!!

And, the both trusty and creative Allrecipes.com website provided the perfect basic recipe.  Click HERE for the original recipe.

Here is what I did:

The squash. I added a medium zucchini to the chayote

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 medium onion, sliced
  • 1 chayote squash, cut into 1/2-inch strips
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice

A few folks on Allrecipes.com suggested adding extra garlic and sliced onion, so I did.

First, heat olive oil in medium skillet over medium-high heat. When oil is hot, add garlic, squash, salt, pepper, sugar, and red pepper flakes. Stir together and cook 2 to 3 minutes.

Add lime juice to the squash mixture and cook 2 to 3 minutes longer, until the squash is slightly wilted, but still firm and crunchy. Taste, and add more salt or sugar if needed.

Done. Yum!

This was really tasty and the perfect amount for two people.  The chayote was more crunchy than the zucchini – which was fine with me, but you might want to start the chayote first if combining with more watery veggies such as zucchini or yellow summer squash. And, check out the original recipe for other variations and ideas.

3 comments on “Chayote !

  1. yvonne
    05/15/2010

    So what does chayote taste like?

  2. Wendy Dennis
    05/15/2010

    Raw, it tastes like a cross between raw green beans and cucumber, with a texture like jicama or a VERY firm and crisp apple – or an Asian pear. Cooked, very mild, more so than the zucchini I cooked it with. I think that cooked, it does more absorbing of flavors.

  3. yvonne
    05/20/2010

    I went to Farmland and got my very own chayote to cook! I loved it. I stir-fried it with zucchini, mushrooms, red pepper, and onion. I cooked it before the other veggies so it was more tender. It really does retain it’s firmness. I used thyme as my primary seasoning. It was yummy. Thanks for the heads up on this new squash. It was interesting to … See Moreread the history about this veggie too, especially this tidbit from Wiki:

    Due to its purported cell-regenerative properties, it is believed as a contemporary legend that this fruit caused the mummification of people from the Colombian town of San Bernardo who extensively consumed it. The very well-preserved skin and flesh can be seen in the mummies today.

    I don’t know if this is a good or bad thing! I’m thinking good…no wrinkles!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 05/15/2010 by in Vegetables, Vegetarian.
